Delete Your Sync Key

A Sync Key is required to use Codebook's Sync feature. You use the same Sync Key for all of your devices. In other words, you should only have one. If you accidentally created a second Sync Key, it needs to be deleted so you can sync with your other device(s).

Warning: When you delete your Sync Key, any sync data that was encrypted using that Sync Key on a cloud service like Dropbox or Google Drive will no longer be retrievable.

Deleting Your Sync Key

On macOS

  1. Click on the Sync menu
  2. Click on Delete Sync Key...
  3. You will be prompted to confirm: Are you sure you want to delete your Sync Key? Click Delete Sync Key

On Windows

  1. Click on the Sync menu
  2. Click on Delete Sync Key
  3. You will be prompted to confirm: Deleting your Sync Key is a destructive operation that will cause any data previously synced using the deleted Sync Key to be unretrievable? Click Delete Sync Key

On iOS

  1. Tap More > Sync
  2. Tap Delete Sync Key
  3. You will be prompted to confirm: Are you sure you want to delete your Sync Key? Tap Delete Sync Key

On Android

  1. Tap on Home > Sync
  2. Tap Delete Sync Key
  3. You will be prompted to confirm: Are you sure you want to delete your Sync Key? Tap Delete Sync Key